top of page

Pike County Court

Mississippi County Courts:


The county courts have exclusive jurisdiction of matters involving eminent domain, the partition of personal property, unlawful entry and detainer, and juvenile matters. County courts have concurrent jurisdiction with justice courts in all matters civil and criminal, and concurrent jurisdiction with circuit and chancery courts in all matters of law and equity up to $200,000. It may also adjudicate certain noncapital felony cases transferred by the circuit court.


The Pike County Court:

The Pike County Court was established during the Mississippi Legislative Session of 1930.  Since that time the following individuals have presided over the tribunal:

  • Hon. William Barrett “W. B.” Mixon - Elected: 11/4/1930. Took the Bench: 1/12/1931.  Died in Office 4/17/1932.

       Total of 1.5 years in office.

  • Hon. Fenelon Dobyns Hewitt - Appointed by Gov. Bennett Conner on 4/27/1932.  Served until 12/31/1934 when his term expired and did not seek reelection as county judge as he made an unsuccessful bid for circuit judge.

       Total of 2.5 years in office.

  • Hon. William Franklin “W. F.” Jackson: Defeated W. A. Parsons in the 1934 General Election; Took office on January 1, 1935.  Served until his death on July 15, 1955.

       Total of 20.5 years in office.

  • Hon. Hansford L. Simmons: Appointed by Gov. Hugh L. White.  Sworn in on Tuesday, 7/19/1955. First took bench in late September 1955.  Served until December 31, 1967, when he retired.

       Total of 12.25 years in Office.

  • Hon. A.T. “Thad” Leggett III: Elected June 7, 1966, defeating L.S. McLauren and John B. Ewing. Took Office on January 1, 1967.  He is the longest serving Pike County Court Judge with 32 years on the bench, ending his tenure on 12/31/1998.

  • Hon. John Phillip Price: Elected in a runoff election on November 17, 1998 wherein he unseated his predecessor, a 32 year incumbent. Took the bench on January 1, 1999. Retired December 31, 2022.  His 24 years of service is the second longest in the position.

  • Hon. David Lee Brewer: Elected November 29, 2022. Took the bench on January 1, 2023, after having served as County Prosecuting Attorney since 2008. and is presently on the bench.  Brewer is the 7th presiding County Court Judge, taking office 93 years after the Court's establishment.
bottom of page